The Job Hunt

With my Web Development & Design degree nearing fulfillment in May, I have recently came to the realization that I don’t have work experience!* So I set out to start looking for jobs at the start of the month, and let me tell you, it’s no cake walk. Employers now have to be picky about who they choose to join their teams at this time, and I frankly don’t blame them. It’s tough out there for everyone. From the start of the month until now, I must have applied to over ten job listings within this area, and thus far I have received two interviews and one telephone interview. The interviews have been promising, and I have kept in touch since; the companies are still in the ‘interview process’ as of now. As I said, not a big deal at all, I understand their need to find someone who is the perfect fit for the company. I just wish that person was me.

I have come to the point where I believe I am not being as aggressive in my job search — no, HUNT — as I need to be. Now, I believe that there is a fine line between being aggressive and abrasive; there is also a fine line between being persistent and annoying. I do not wish to cross those boundaries. However, I should take the initiative from now on to contact employers directly after I have submitted my information for the job. I should have the right to at least a phone interview, right?

Alright, I’ve convinced myself. I’ll keep in touch. Now, I’ve gotta go make some calls.

Matt

*I have done a small amount of freelance work involving a couple websites and social media campaigns; I’m not unhirable. I am perfectly prepared to tackle any job that comes my way.

Leave a Reply

